The Best Salad Dressing Ever

There are two things I can’t get enough varieties of in my garden. Tomatoes and Lettuce. There are sooo many colorful and interesting cultivars, I just can’t help myself. Obviously, the end result of this obsession is heaps and heaps of lettuce and tomatoes. But I’ll let you in on a little secret. I don’t actually like salad that much. In fact, I have to force myself to eat it because I know it’s good for me. And if I don’t, and it all goes to seed, Farmer B won’t let me indulge in my lettuce love anymore.

Lots of lettuce!

So, to over-come this obstacle, I went searching for the best salad dressing ever. Just to increase the difficulty of this task, I’m ultra picky about salad dressings. I don’t like creamy ones, I don’t like fruity ones, and I especially hate any of the store-bought varieties. I also don’t want one that’s going to negate the nutritional benefits of the leafy greens I’m eating.

Farmer B’s aunt makes a really good balsamic dressing that I like very much, but it wasn’t quite hitting the mark of my absolute favorite. I wanted something more.

Then, I found a Herb and Ginger Vinaigrette in an old Anne Lindsay cookbook I had lying around. It sounded promising. I gave it a try, and WoW! Did it ever light up my taste buds. Buuut, there was just one small problem. It was just a little too sweet, and used granulated white sugar. I like things more on the tart side, and I don’t like using white refined sugar. So I adapted the original recipe to suit my tastes, and it’s PERFECT! I could eat salad with this dressing aaaallll daaay loong.

Here’s my recipe, slightly adapted from the original by Anne Lindsay:

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 Tbsp each, soy sauce, fresh lemon juice, and olive oil

1 Tsp local honey (more if you like things a little sweeter)

1 Tsp ginger root passed through a garlic press

1 clove garlic, minced

2 Tbsp each chopped fresh basil and cilantro

Whisk ingredients in a small bowl and serve!

This dressing is delicious drizzled over tomatoes with a little arugula and thinly sliced red onion as well. So if you struggle to enjoy salads, but really want to like them, give this dressing a whirl. I’m sure you’ll like it as much as I do.

Do you have favorite salad dressing that you just can’t live without? I’d love to hear it.

Linking to:

6 thoughts on “The Best Salad Dressing Ever

  1. hey Marie! Yes!!! I have the best, self-invented cucumber salad recipe that people call me on the phone for all the time and here it is: 1 large garden cucumber, thinly sliced (preferably with a Mandolin)
    1 half sweet onion thinly sliced and quartered
    chopped fresh cilantro, about a handful
    2 or 3 chopped TBSPs fresh dill
    1/2 cup feta, crumbled
    mix all together in a bowl then add together in seperate bowl:
    3 to 5 tbsp rice vinegar (hint: this is the BEST vinegar for dressings if you don’t actually like the vinegar-ish taste!)
    1 TBSP honey, melted slightly
    pinch seasalt and pepper
    a few bog glugs of olive oil and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice
    and voila! mix all together and pour over salad. People will love it!

    A little hint from Amber’s pantry: Fresh dill is WAY better than dry BUT you have to buy it in such a large bunch and end up throwing the rest away… terribly wasteful! Instead, buy a large bunch or two one day, wrap them in a plastic bag or ziploc bag and then frezze them. Once frozen, take them out and shake the bag a little and squeeze the dill a bit. All of the needles fall off instantly and there, you have fresh dill whenever you need it without wasting anything! yes, just call me Martha.

  2. Oh Marie, this sounds REALLY good! Can’t wait to try it; thanks!! (‘Specially the local honey bit; )

  3. There’s always room for another dressing recipe at our table! My go-to is olive oil, dijon mustard, and vinegar – the type varies, but it’s usually either a sweet balsamic or a champagne. If I have more time, I might add a chopped shallot…
    Oh, and I’m with you on the lettuce…it was the ‘Gateway Veggie’ that got Hubby to build me my gardens! So many varieties, so little space… 😉

  4. This looks and sounds really, really good! Funny, I’m the exact same way: I don’t like salad but force myself to eat them because I know they’re good for me. I’ll definitely have to try this. Thank you for sharing this! 😀
    blessings, Miss Hatcher

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

