When It Rains, It Pours

A while back, in about mid February, I recall looking out the window, tea in hand, and dreaming about all the lovely things I had planned for this Spring. Milking my goat, getting my pigs, planting our sweet corn patch…

I realized at the time, that yes it would be busy, but what I seemed to have forgotten was how everything happens at once. 

It started with the “bad things”. I got 4 beautiful peacocks as an early birthday present from my Mother-in-law, and after a nice acclimation period in their coop/covered run, Farmer B and I decided they were ready to try free ranging. They flew away within hours. I was crushed.

Then, Milking Maebelle hasn’t been going very well. She kicks like mule (yes, even with the hobbles on), and every day is a battle for 1 litre of milk. The final straw came, when I got an almost full bucket of beautiful, delicious sweet milk, and just as I went to stand up and pat Maebelle for being such a good girl- CLANG..Splooosh . She kicks the bucket, gets her foot in it momentarily before spilling the contents all over my lap and the floor. Whoever said “It’s not worth crying over spilt milk” wasn’t milking that animal by hand. No…instead they likely bought it nicely packaged from the milk mad, never  knowing the struggle the poor milk maid went to just to get that milk. Needless to say, I cried.

Then, just as I thought the skies were clearing (Farmer B was taking me to a baseball game in Toronto. A date! Yay!), it seemed the storm wasn’t over. My hair was done, makeup on, I was ready for night out. Then…our phone rings. My Brother-in-laws cows got out. Ok, no big deal. They’re just standing on the wrong side of the fence. They’ll go back. Nooo problem…..Evidently they had different ideas. They took one look at the gate, and turned in the opposite direction and ran. To make a long story short, we were late for the game.

But things get better. Much better! All in one very busy day, I got my 4 Large Black pigs that I’ve been waiting months for, all my new chickies came, and one of my broody hens hatched her eggs!

It was a long drive to go get the pigs, but absolutely worth it. Are they ever cute!

And the cherry on the cake? All of my peacocks have been located…2 decided to move in to the neighbors (Luckily he doesn’t mind!) and 2 came home! What a week it’s been 🙂

P.S. “Like” the Facebook Page for more pictures 🙂

   Also Sharing At: Natural Mother’s Network Seasonal Celebration #15 & Homestead Barn Hop #61

16 thoughts on “When It Rains, It Pours

  1. Wow that is a lot to take on all at once! Rob just got 4 baby pigs too, and they are such a joy to watch. Almost as playful as a kitten 🙂 Glad things are going better!

  2. Hm,mm… I thought about this when you mentioned the escapist tendencies of your early birthday gift; but didn’t say it… Maybe a good idea to clip your lovelies’ wings once they’re recovered; just to help keep ’em down on the farm (pun intended; )

    • haha yes, Deb, I have thought of clipping their wings. The only problem is that it’s nearly impossible to convince them to sleep inside a barn or coop, so clipping their wings would make them much to vulnerable to predators. They are settled in quite nicely now though, so as long as they stay happy they likely won’t leave again.

  3. That is quite the Spring you have been having!! I never thought of owning peacocks before but I imagine it would be heartbreaking to lose them so quickly. I recently got my first batch of baby chicks (15) and have raised them all to be huge 3.5 week old ladies until yesterday when I lost my first one for absolutely no reason! In the morning it was absolutely healthy and by noon, gone. Complete heartbreak! I understand your feelings!
    Those pigs are adorable 🙂

    • Congratulations Dawn! Baby chicks are just the best. I’m heading out to take some nice pictures of mine, I’ll post them on the Facebook page a little later.
      I’m sorry to hear you lost one though, it really is terrible, especially when it seems to be for no reason. That’s the tough part of owning livestock- it becomes deadstock far too easy. Good luck with the rest of your girls 🙂

  4. Spring is definitely a busy time! Between new bees, a lot of new chicks ( I have 3 different brooders going), tons of seedlings, goats (one I can’t seem to get bred successfully and another’s milk production dropping), all the other plants going in, and life in general… I’m falling into bed exhausted! Too tired to even write a post tonight!
    It was nice to hear 2 of your peacocks came home! Don’t give up on the milking… It’s worth the extra work!

    • Thanks for the encouragement Amy 🙂 I know how you feel being too tired to write. I nearly forgot what a computer was all together!

  5. Those pigs ears and tails are gorgeous! Great news about the peacocks.

    I am one of those lucky people who finds milk waiting for me outside a couple of times a week. Your post has made me appreciate that even more!

    • Thanks Kelly. I find even when all kinds of things go wrong, it just takes one thing (like newly hatched chicks!) to make it all worth it.

  6. Oh i can so relate to this post! Somehow the cows know when it’s a day off or special occasion! Yesterday my chickens got into the neighbors flower beds and i should not even be reading this for all the work i have left to do today! It’s actually such a relief to read all you’re saying! I’m still new at farming and some days wonder if i’ll ever get it together! So glad to hear your peacocks came back, and i love those pigs. i’d love to have some… maybe when i get the chicken situation under control. =)

    • You’ll probably never get it together lol if there’s one thing I’ve learned, especially when livestock is involved, there’s no such thing as together. But you do learn to roll with the punches, and know that even though it all goes wrong, it does eventually all go right again 🙂

  7. What a week you’ve had but delighted that it finished on a high note. I suppose without the real bummer days, we wouldn’t appreciate the good times as much 😉
    Thank you very much for sharing this with us on Seasonal Celebration Sunday! Rebecca @ Natural Mothers Network x

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

