The God You Don’t Believe In

Note: Thanks to Rev. Lynda, I have a copy of the sermon here if you would like to read it

This morning at Church, a topic was covered that I found to be extremely profound. Our reverand, Lynda Hodgins, asked the children “What do you mean when you say “God?” The general answer was a tall man, with a big beard, lightening bolts, a robe. These were all thoughts that I was well aquatinted with. This is what I used to believe. Or maybe didn’t believe. After all, I would have told anyone up till a couple months ago that I didn’t believe in God, because those were the images I had in my mind as well. Lynda continued to urge the children to view God as something bigger than that, something that really couldn’t be encompassed or explained by just one image. That piqued my interest, but the sermon to follow is what really hit me. The God You Don’t Believe In. Lynda conveyed the message that, most non-believers, when asked what they thought of when they thought of God, would answer something similar to that. That God was a big puppeteer, controlling life from far above in the clouds, waiting to judge every sin. Her response, was that she didn’t believe in that God either.

When I got home today, I wrote her this email, that I wanted to share.

Good Morning Lynda!

I wanted to thank you again for that amazing sermon this morning. It really hit home for me.
I wasn’t raised in a religious family. We never went to Church, and I always said I didn’t believe in God. The images you described today- the puppeteer, the man with the beard and lightning bolts, – That’s what I thought God was, and thought everyone who worshipped this image were nuts.
What I did believe in was a higher power. Especially when I was out enjoying nature, I could just feel in my bones there was something more. I also believed in always following my “gut instinct”. Sometimes I had the feeling that I needed to do something, even if that something made no sense to me at the time. But inevitably, if I listened to that feeling, it always led me to where I needed to be. I always wanted to put a name on that feeling. Mother Nature? Karma? Universe? Nothing I thought of quite felt right.
At some point in the recent past, and I couldn’t even tell you why, I had this idea- kind of like when the Grinch realizes Christmas isn’t just gifts and decorations- that God wasn’t a “person”. Wasn’t a man, or a woman, and didn’t live in the clouds, pulling the strings of life. Instead I thought, maybe, He was everything. Then, just like that, a light went off and I found the word I’d been looking for. God. God is everything. Simple as that!
Once I let go of that perceived representation, and realized that, like you said, God isn’t one image, it all came together. Then I started reading books, and blogs about religion. I started coming to Church, and everything that was said, made so much sense! How did it take me so long to realize this?
When you spoke today, about the God You Don’t Believe In, it brought tears to my eyes, because that was exactly the internal struggle I’d been having for the last 13 or so years. I wish I’d heard that message years ago.
So, if you could, I’d love to have a copy of your message to read to myself, and maybe some other “non-believers”.
Thanks again,
Marie
Who is the God that you don’t believe in?

This post is featured in the Barn Hop. Click here to visit and find other great homesteading blogs!

8 thoughts on “The God You Don’t Believe In

  1. Wonderful post, Marie. you are most certainly living in an ideal setting for reflecting on the raw beauty that this earth, or God, provides for us. Everything from the miracle of birthing a child to the eternal love we feel for our partners, or just the simple beauty in chickens and turkeys are all examples of the things that we should be thankful for. Sometimes when we have those moments, those ‘wow’ moments, we are gently reminded that there is something far greater than us, beyond a simple explanation, and we should just humbly accept that yes, indeed there is God, whatever that may be.

  2. A good friend of mine emailed me a link to this wonderful post. I feel the same way, God is everything. I grew up believing in God, but I always believed in God as a higher power, my internal voice, the wind in the trees, etc. I never really had the view that He was controlling everthing like a puppeteer and that made it difficult at times to fit in, because people didn’t understand why I gave God so much credit. They had the perception you described. It was even a problem between my husband and I, he considered himself a non-believer in God. One day it all clicked when I finally explained to him what and who God was for me. I explained about the sense that there’s something bigger, I described the freedom of listening to that inner voice, and how I understood those things to be God. Since that day he believes in God, because his perception changed from fire and brimstone to universal love and acceptance! I’m so glad to have read this and I’m so glad to my friend who shared it.

    • I think many people who don’t believe have the same misconceptions. I’m very glad you found this post, feel free to share it with others who may also be less inclined to believe in God.

  3. Its amazing how spirituality makes you feel complete. Life can feel meaningless without knowing there is something more to it then just living. Having a child really opens your eyes to life and whats important throughout it. Its nice to hear there are other women who are spending more time setting up a belief system for their children and not just focusing on the “things” in life.

    • I think it’s very important to have faith in something, or what reason do we have to take care of ourselves and our earth? It’s especially important for children too, so like you mentioned, they don’t grow up thinking everything is about material objects. You may also enjoy http://www.growinghomeblog.com if you are interested in raising children to believe in God.

  4. Pingback: The God You Don’t Believe In: The Sermon – Plowing in Pearls

  5. Glad to have found you on the Barn Hop. I’m Catholic and there are MANY aspects of our faith that exclude outsiders. Only men can be priests (pastors) and they cannot marry. You must be Catholic to share in the Eucharist (the passing of bread & wine). You can marry a non-Catholic – but only if they convert. And so on.

    And, while I’m glad to be Catholic, I know all these fussy “you must be Catholic to worship this way” rules are man-made and from the god I don’t believe in.

    MY God just says, come and eat with me, I’ll be there at your wedding, and anyone can share my Word with a group. ” Great post – thanks for passing on the full sermon!

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

