The Pursuit of Education & Social Justice Through Sustainable Agriculture

Modern consumerism has led to a disconnection from the land and our food sources. These days, most people have no clue what goes in to their food, and little opportunity to learn how the land is used to produce food. In a relatively short amount of time, people went from being very capable of supporting their own families, to being entirely dependant on corporate food systems. My goals for our home farm include educating people, especially kids, about how food choices affect not only society, but the Earth as well.

Pastured Pigs

With the new year just around the corner, resolutions and goals for a better life are on my mind. I want to provide better, healthier food for my own family, but as well, I want to help others gain access to, and appreciation for better, healthier food. But healthier food doesn’t just mean healthier for our bodies, it also means healthier for our Earth.

Sustainable Agriculture

I think we’ve reached a very important time as a society. Most people now have heard that animals and produce raised in a small-scale, natural environment are better than those raised in an intensive, factory farmed setting, but lack the opportunity to see why. In the next few years, I hope to do my part to change that.

Free Range Turkey's

As it is, I love when people come to our farm and see our animals, see our land, and experience nature, but I want to go a step further by opening an on-farm market, and offering tours of our operation. I want to give people the chance to spend time with us get their hands dirty, and form a connection with their food source.

Basil, Our Nosey Goat

Maybe we can help people change the way they participate in the food system- Not to be passive, but instead be active, educated and informed consumers, and stewards of the Earth.

On-Farm Market

4 thoughts on “The Pursuit of Education & Social Justice Through Sustainable Agriculture

    • Thanks so much! I’m glad you found it! Food is such a great thing, I really feel like it should be treated with much more respect than it is these days.
      Cheers! 🙂

  1. Wish I lived near you, I would love to visit your farm and support your on-farm market. This year my family’s goal is to completely eliminate the need for store purchased food. We already buy our beef from a local farmer, as well as raw honey. I am planning a garden for all our veggie needs, but I still need to find a farm to get milk, chicken, and fruit. I’m excited about the challenge.

    Glad I found your blog!
    Kelly
    http://mysimplewalk.com

    • Hi Kelly! I’m glad you found me too! 🙂 That is our goal as well. I need to improve my preserving, but we’re taking it one step at a time. Every little bit we can do for ourselves puts us one step closer to sustainability and independence. We’re even going to try and make our own beer with our home grown hops next year! Good luck on you’re search for local chicken and fruits! Thanks for stopping by!

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

