Back to Reality

Back from Cuba, yes. But more importantly,back to blogging!

For me writing is much like exercising, if you get on a roll it’s easy to keep going, but miss just one or two days and it’s very hard to get the ball rolling again.

And even when I do carve out a few minutes to get on the computer, there’s constant interuptions, like the person currently knocking on my door looking for eggs, because they have missed the big white fridge with the sign that says “EGGS $3.00/Dozen” that is right beside them.

And now the phone is ringing.

Can I go back to Cuba?

It was great to be away from all the distractions for a week. We got to spend a lot time doing nothing, which is something we haven’t done in at least 20 months. But after a week of buffet food, a little too much rum punch, and a lot of hot sun, I was ready to come home to my baby boy. Who, as it turned out, had grown a shocking amount in a week. Not so much physically, but mentally. He now knows every animal and it’s corresponding sound in his Big Farm Book, can say”down please” and “boosbrush” (which really means toothbrush)

As for the farming, we’re pretty much done for the season. Farmer B is doing a little tile draining, and I’m working on finishing up the chicken coop (I’ll do an update in a separate post). I hope to have the girls moved in to their new digs in the next week.

Now that things have slowed down, I’m taking some time to focus on my hobbies, and getting a more set routine of housekeeping and cooking. One hobby in particular I’ll hopefully be spending more time on is riding, more specifically barrel racing. Words can not describe the feeling of freedom and excitement I feel flying around the arena (or the trails!). No matter what’s going on in the rest of my life, for those few minutes I forget everything, and focus 100% on my body and my horse. It’s very much like meditation for me, not to mention the physical benefits. (That’s right Farmer B, riding a horse takes muscle, it’s not as easy as it looks 😛 )

I’ve also jumped in to crocheting with both feet, I’ve already finished a cute pair of fingerless gloves, complete with crocheted flower detailing. I won’t post a picture of this pair though 🙂 I still need some practice before I make it public. Maybe I’ll even start going to the Y again. Chase can get some social time and I can get in some more exercise!

In short, as much as I hate the freezing temperature, and unpredictable driving conditions, winter gives us an opportunity to slow down, spend time together as a family, and relax. I’m looking forward to the next few months!

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

