The Night Before Slaughter, I Am Thankful.

The saying of grace does not signify human dominion, but rather recognition of a plant or animal’s giving their life and that some day the prayer giver, like every sentient being, will return to earth to give sustenance and life to others.

I’m not a particularly religious person, and when I say “give Thanks” I don’t mean to a man in the clouds dictating and judging our lives. I do, however, strongly believe in the natural rhythms of the earth, and the idea of Karma. Mother Nature is my idea of God.

It’s important to remember that it is not our right to sacrifice the lives of  of divine creatures, but a privilege that is, all to often, taken for granted.

I’m not going to bust into a deep religious discussion here, but tonight I was once again reminded that our food (meat and other animal products) is made possible by a living, breathing creature. This fact is easily forgotten when you go the grocery store every week and pick up you chicken breast, or steak. People forget that that steak, breast, or chop had a face, a heart, feelings ect. And when you forget that, you forget to be thankful for the sacrifice of life that was made.

I can’t put in to words how humbled I am, being involved in that life from birth to slaughter. It gives me a sense of gratitude that is shared by few in our society. Tonight, I put our last batch of chickens and turkey’s in the crates that will transport them to the butcher. I wish more people could experience that feeling of recognition and gratitude, instead of being ignorant and ungrateful for their food and it’s origins. It is a hard thing to do, there’s no doubt. But I’m thankful for that involvement, because it ensures that I never forget

Have you thought about where the food you ate today came from?

Creator, Sustainer and Life-giver, Bless this food to our use, and us to your service, make us grateful for all your mercies, and mindful of the needs of others. Amen.

I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

