Beehive Inpection

Bee keeping is something I’ve been interested in for a while, and this past spring I took the chance and got my first hive!

Contrary to popular belief, not all bees are created equal. Many people go into anaphalactic shock just hearing the word bee. But honey bees are different, they’re quite peacful, and not at all aggressive unless you almost smoosh one, or they think you’re threatening their hive.

I do wear the gloves and the goofy looking hat, and about 3 layers of clothes, just in case. I’m a bit of a girl when it comes to pain so I tke every possible precaution. In my mind, the reward of sweet golden honey is worth the risk.

Here are a couple pictures of my findings today.

bee frame

This is a single frame that sits inside one of the boxes.

Each box is filled with 8-10 individual frames which the bees “draw out comb” on. The comb will be filled with eggs, larvae, nectar or honey
Drones

The bees with the big eyes are the drones

it’s a bit hard to tell in the picture, but the bee in the centre is quite a bit larger, and has larger eyes that the bee to the left. That’s becuase he is a drone, or a male bee. Another interesting fact about bees, is that all the workers and the Queen (obviously) are females. The drones only purpose in life is to mate with the Queen Bee. Apart from that duty, they are totally useless. (Hmm, sound familiar to anyone? 😀 )
The “women” in the hive do all the work, from being the “maid” for the queen, taking care of the “babies”, stirring and fanning the honey, “housekeeping” and collecting food. (This also may sound familiar)
Honey
Delicious Honey

This is a wee piece of honey comb that I scrapped off the edge of one of the frames. I can’t begin to describe how delicious it was. And the smell…mmm..to die for.

Over all, I find my bee’s absolutely fascinating and I look forward to opening them up and getting a peek inside at their incredibly intricate little lives.
I love hearing from you and read (and try to respond to) every comment. Thank-you for taking the time to write one! "Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear." Ephesians. 4:29

